Language and Projects and Patterns Oh My!

Since this site is going to contain my programming projects, I thought now might be a good time to put down some of my personal plans for furthering my developer education this summer and fall.

A New Language

If you have read any of my recent posts, you’ve probably discovered the language that I’m just itching to do some ‘real’ programming in, Clojure. I am currently around halfway through Clojure for the Brave and True and plan to continue my Clojure journey with web development.

Design Patterns Strike Back

One of the useful tools I picked up from programming throwdown is a book called Head First Design Patterns. It covers must know design patterns in a fun way, and will me strengthen an area I have no experience in. Recognizing good and bad patterns in design can be a powerful tool for planning the structure of your code and setting yourself up for success with maintenance down the road.

I also plan on furthering my experience with Test Driven Development. It seems like a natural fit with good design patterns since it encourages strong decoupling.

Return of a Project

wpid-wp-1434393611411As part of my getting reacquainted with Android programming, I started a calculator app last summer. I made it pretty far along, but the way I was entering and parsing data made a few things more complex than necessary. I stopped working on it when I started back school in the fall. After taking a class in Programming Language Design, I think I have a good idea to pick that project back up. I am going to try applying a grammar, lexer, and parser to my calculator’s input to allow for a more flexible system of working with data and creating custom functions.

I would also like to get an old map application I made around 4 years ago to a state where it will work with modern Android OS versions. I have a professor who is also vested in this project, and has agreed to help contribute to the code base on github. This means I will probably lean more towards resurrecting this app first.Mockup

As always, let me know what you guys think. Is this too much to focus on with classes in the summer and fall? If so, what should I cut back to. I was also thinking of working through a couple of pentesting books, but I can’t figure out where to put them for now. Should I scrap my whole plan and focus on the pentesting instead?


Featured Image from Pixabay. Edited by Brad Wilson. Images featured in the post are credited Brad Wilson.

Leave a Reply

